Cardinal Football

Satterfield Named Semifinalist For Munger National Coach of the Year Award

Chris Humphrey

The Louisville Cardinals still have two games remaining in the 2019 season, but Scott Satterfield is already in the mix for one of the top national coach of the year awards.

Satterfield is one of 22 coaches to be named a semifinalist for the Maxwell Football Club’s George Munger Coach of the Year Award.

George Munger Semifinalists Coach of the Year


Troy Calhoun Air Force
Eli Drinkwitz Appalachian State
Matt Rhule Baylor
Bryan Harsin Boise State
Jim McElwain Central Michigan
Luke Fickell Cincinnati
Dabo Swinney Clemson
Dan Mullen Florida
Kirby Smart Georgia
Tom Allen Indiana
Scott Satterfield Louisville
Ed Orgeron LSU
Mike Norvell Memphis
P.J. Fleck Minnesota
Ken Niumatalolo Navy
Ryan Day Ohio State
Lincoln Riley Oklahoma
Mario Cristobal Oregon
James Franklin Penn State
Rocky Long San Diego State
Sonny Dykes SMU
Kyle Whittingham Utah


Semifinalist voting for the Maxwell Football Club Collegiate Coach of the Year award will begin on Thursday Nov. 21stand close on Sunday, Dec.8th. The finalist round will include the top three coaches as selected in the semifinalist round. Finalist voting will open Dec.9th and run until Dec. 27th. The winner will be announced Dec. 29th.

The formal presentation of the George Munger Collegiate Coach of the Year Award will take place at the Maxwell Football Club’s National Awards Gala on Friday, March 6, 2020 at the Tropicana Resort in Atlantic City, New Jersey.

Eligible voters include Maxwell Football Club members, NCAA Head Football Coaches, Sports Information Directors and selected national media. Jeff Monken of Army-West Point was the 2018 winner of the award.

Coach of the Year awards are always tricky. At times they’re given to coaches who massively overachieve or a coach who simply has the best team.

As we broke down earlier this week, looking at the mess Satterfield inherited really puts in perspective the rapid rebuild that has taken place this season.

[Official UofL Release]

[addthis tool="addthis_inline_share_toolbox_khm1"]
To Top