Former Cardinals

Lamar Jackson Becomes Second Ever Unanimous NFL MVP Winner

(David J. Phillip / Associated Press)

At the young age of 23 former Louisville Cardinal Lamar Jackson has become one the most individually accomplished players in football history.

After a sensational and record breaking sophomore season with the Baltimore Ravens, Jackson was named 2019 NFL MVP. He joins Tom Brady as the only other player to win the award unanimously.

In his first season as a full time starter, Jackson became the first player in league history to produce over 3,000 yards passing and 1,000 yards rushing in a single season. Lamar lead the NFL with 36 touchdown passes and set the league record for rushing yards by a quarterback with 1,206.

At 22 years, 356 days old at the end of the regular season, Lamar is the second youngest player to win the award. Only Jim Brown, who was honored as NFL MVP in 1957 and 1958, was younger than Jackson.

Jackson is now one of seven former Heisman trophy winners to win the NFL MVP Award.

[addthis tool="addthis_inline_share_toolbox_khm1"]
To Top