Benavides Named To Rimington Watch-List


Cardinal center Mario Benavides has been named to the 2011 Rimington Trophy Watch-List.

The Rimington Trophy is presented annually to the Most Outstanding Center in NCAA Division I-A College Football. Since its inception, the Rimington Trophy has raised over $2 million. The twelve-year old award is overseen by the Boomer Esiason Foundation, which is committed to finding a cure for cystic fibrosis and has raised over $86 million for CF Research.

Dave Rimington, the award’s namesake, was a consensus first-team All-America center at the University of Nebraska in 1981 and 1982, during which time he became the John Outland Trophy’s only double winner as the nation’s finest college interior lineman. For more on the Rimington Trophy and a list of past recipients, visit


2011 Rimington Watch-List

Chris Anzevino Kent State 6’2″ 305 Senior
Eloy Atkinson UTEP 6’3″ 300 Junior
Mario Benavides Louisville 6’4″; 300 Junior
Philip Blake Baylor 6’2″ 315 Senior
Ben Bojicic Bowling Green 6’4″ 295 Senior
Colin Boss Middle Tennessee State 6’4″ 310 RS Senior
Mike Brewster Ohio State 6’5″ 305 Senior
Terence Brown BYU 6’4″ 330 Senior
Ben Burkett Northwestern 6’4″ 300 Senior
Thomas Byrd Boise State 5’11” 288 Senior
Mike Caputo Nebraska 6’1″ 275 Senior
Nick Carlson Wyoming 6’4″ 292 Junior
Tom Castilaw Arkansas State 6’3″ 280 RS Senior
Braxton Cave Notre Dame 6’3″ 303 Senior
Trent Dupy Tulsa 6’2″ 285 Junior
Dillon Farrell New Mexico 6’5″ 290 RS Sophomore
James Ferentz Iowa 6’2″ 284 Junior
Dalton Freeman Clemson 6’5″ 285 Junior
Kevin Galeher Western Michigan 6’4″ 312 Junior
Grant Garner Oklahoma State 6’3″ 289 Senior
Garth Gerhart Arizona State 6’2″ 295 RS Senior
Jeremiah Hatch Kansas 6’3″ 332 Senior
A.J. Hawkins Mississippi 6’3″ 313 Junior
Cam Holland North Carolina 6’2″ 320 Senior
Tyler Horn Miami 6’4″ 305 Senior
Grant Johnson Oregon State 6’3″ 293 Senior
T.J. Johnson South Carolina 6’4″ 314 Junior
Ben Jones Georgia 6’3″ 316 Junior
Peter Konz Wisconsin 6’5″ 313 RS Junior
Tyler Larsen Utah State 6’4″ 297 Sophomore
P.J. Lonergan LSU 6’4″ 300 Junior
Joe Madsen West Virginia 6’4″ 300 RS Junior
Kai Maiava UCLA 6’1″ 318 RS Senior
Blake McJunkin SMU 6’2″ 290 Senior
David Molk Michigan 6’2″ 288 RS Senior
Brian Moore Duke 6’2″ 285 RS Junior
Moe Petrus Connecticut 6’2″ 302 RS Senior
Weston Richburg Colorado State 6’4″ 302 Sophomore
Darion Smith UAB 6’2″ 280 Senior
Matt Smith Kentucky 6’4″ 303 Junior
Travis Swanson Arkansas 6’5″ 305 RS Sophomore
William Vlachos Alabama 6’1″ 294 Senior
Scott Wedige Northern Illinois 6’4″ 314 RS Senior







About Nick Coffey

Nick Coffey
Nick Coffey is the creator and lead publisher for Along with covering Louisville basketball, football and recruiting, Nick has worked in sports talk radio for over three years.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

ga(‘set’, ‘&uid’, {{USER_ID}}); // Set the user ID using signed-in user_id.